Skip to content

Sunnah 101: The greatest du’a of forgiveness

August 3, 2010

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

The Prophet (pbuh) taught us to say the following du’a daily:

‘O Allaah, You are my Lord, none has the right to be worshipped except You, You created me and I am You servant and I abide to Your covenant and promise as best I can, I take refuge in You from the evil of which I committed. I acknowledge Your favour upon me and I acknowledge my sin, so forgive me, for verily none can forgive sin except You.’

[Allahumma anta Rabbi la ilaha illa ant, Khalaqtani wa ana abduka, wa ana ‘ala ‘ahdika wa wa’dika mastata’t, A’udhu bika min Sharri ma sana’t, abu’u Laka bini’matika ‘alaiya, wa Abu Laka bidhanbi faghfirli fa innahu la yaghfiru adhunuba illa ant]

The Prophet (pbuh) said about this du’a: “If somebody recites it during the day with firm faith in it, and dies on the same day before the evening, he will be from the people of Paradise; and if somebody recites it at night with firm faith in it, and dies before the morning, he will be from the people of Paradise.” [Bukhari]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Habibullahi Bala permalink
    June 7, 2012 6:51 pm

    All the sayings of the Noble Holy Prophet are truth and rightfully.

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review « A Sunnah A Day

Leave a Reply

